view · edit · upload · history · print



Publisher: DAW
Publication Date: August 1, 2006
Media Type: Hardcover
Pages: 570
ISBN: 0756402646
Followed By: The Fox
Available at: Amazon, Barnes & Noble

Inda is a fantasy novel written by Sherwood Smith. It is the first book in the Inda series, which was originally planned to be a duology, but gradually expanded into a four book series.

In this novel, Indevan, the second son of the Prince and Princess of Choraed Elgaer is destined to become his elder brother Tanrid 's Shield Arm-his military champion. Like all second sons, he is to be privately trained at home by Tanrid, the brother whose lands he will one day protect.

When the King's Voice comes to summon Inda to the Military Academy, he might well feel foreboding, or even fear-war is imminent-yet youthful Inda feels only excitement. But there are things that Tanrid hadn't prepared him for, and Inda will soon learn that the greatest threats to his safety will not come from foreign enemies, but from supposed allies within his own country. [1]

Synopsis (contains spoilers)

Other Editions

At the back of the hardcover version of Inda are Marlovan terms, and there's a confusing error on pg. 566. There are three northern continents; the Venn live on Drael (Dray-ELL), not Goerael (this mistake was fixed in paperback, as was the spelling on the maps).[2]

Inda is also available as a paperback or an ebook.

Publication DateAugust 7, 2007April 4, 2009

See Also


  1. Amazon link
  2. Sherwood Smith's Inda Universe Page

<< Treason's Shore | Inda Series | The Fox >>

Categories: Inda Series || Inda || Iasca Leror || Freedom Island || needs synopsis

Page last modified on May 10, 2013, at 07:47 AM