Login

view · edit · upload · history · print

Senrid

Senrid


Second edition cover


Publisher: Norilana - YA Angst
Publication Date: May 1, 2007
Media Type: Hardcover
Pages: 448
ISBN: 1934169625
Available at: Book View Café, Amazon, Barnes & Noble

Senrid is an entry story to this world. In other words, you can probably read and understand it without having read any of Sherwood's other stories. This story marks the beginning of the "Senrid" thread. It also contains some of the Mearsies Heili thread, and just a touch of the Everon thread.

Blurb

Senrid is a story of swashbuckling boys and girls, royal stakes, mysterious villains, high adventure and strange magic, in the tradition of Lloyd Alexander's Westmark and Megan Whalen Turner's The Thief. In the novel, teen-aged king Leander Tlennen-Hess has barely ruled Vasande Leror a year when he and his step-sister Kitty (or Princess Kyale, as she wishes to be known) are surprised by two visitors. The first is an adventure-loving girl, Faline, who helps Leander defend his tiny kingdom from invasion by the menacing warrior kingdom Marloven Hess, using only imagination and a bit of magic. The second visitor is a nice, friendly boy... who asks too many questions about the recent defeat of those evil Marlovens.

The nice, friendly visitor turns out to be Senrid, king of Marloven Hess.

But Senrid is king in name only. His Uncle Tdanerend, the regent, holds power and Senrid must prove himself to be sufficiently strong by abducting for execution the two kids who thwarted the invasion.

The only way to save them is to enter the stronghold of the enemy, in flimsy disguise... [1]

Synopsis (contains spoilers)

Q&A (contains spoilers)

Q: "During Senrid's tour of the kingdom, did that apple peeler he encountered go by the name of Siamis, by any chance?"
A: "No--Siamis was busy setting up his plan, laying down all the magic in preparation for the heavy spells to be fast and seem easy, when Senrid was busy with his kingdom. The apple-peeler was one of Senrid's Jarls who very soon gave him trouble, and had to be put right back in his place. In Shevraeth [ A Stranger to Command] there's a brief mention of Senrid having to ride against one of his own Jarls-- this was the guy."[2]

Other Editions

Senrid is also available in paperback and as an ebook:

Editionpaperbackebook
PublisherNorilana YA AngstBook View Café
Publication DateSeptember 1, 2007April 18, 2011
Pages448448
ISBN1934169633978-1611380583

See Also

References

  1. Amazon Page
  2. LJ.161454

<< Sartor | Reader's Guides | Fleeing Peace >>

Categories: Senrid || Marloven Hess || Vasande Leror || Mearsies Heili || needs synopsis

Page last modified on May 05, 2013, at 09:45 PM